Follow us
COVID-19 Trade Update Page

Isabel Conway wins Travel writer and Journalist of the Year

31st January 2020 - 1:00pm

Isabel Conway takes to the floor with Ed Finn (Travel Times) for a victory waltz

Isabel Conway takes to the floor with Ed Finn (Travel Times) for a victory waltz

Travel writers’ awards - Travel Extra Travel Journalist of the Year 2020 went to Isabel Conway.


Dublin’s Thomas Prior Hall in Ballsbridge was the venue for the Travel Extra Travel Journalist Awards dinner 2020 and a night of festive fun was marked with sequins, glamour, colour and charisma. The ladies looked stunning too! Brilliantly organised by Kathryn Byrne (Limelight Communications) and generously sponsored by the Spanish Tourism Office and Lanzarote Tourist Board, the evening was a great success with speeches from John Spollen (President ITAA) and Ruben Lopez (Director Spanish Tourism Office). The glitterati of Irish travel writers and broadcasters were present, albeit a little tired following a hectic couple of days at the ITIA gala ball on Thursday and trade morning at the annual Holiday World Show earlier that day. Apparently, there were huge entries for the competition this year, proving that Ireland is just full of talent.


Heartiest congratulations to Isabel Conway who won Travel Journalist of the Year 2020. Isabel also scooped the prize for best Long Haul, so she headed home laden with trophies!


Proceedings were hosted by the irrepressible Eoghan Corry and with his usual aplomb, he even managed a stanza of the “Parting Glass” to entertain the guests. It was also ‘leaked’ that Eoghan is recently engaged, so long life and happiness to Eoghan and Orla!


Well done to all the worthy winners, as follows:

The Gerry O’Hare Best Newcomer Journalist - sponsored by Stephen Evans

Best Digital Media - sponsored by Click&Go: Janet Newenham

Best Broadcasting - sponsored by TUI: RTÉ Nationwide – Mary Fanning and Mary Kennedy

Best Northern Ireland - sponsored by Tourism Northern Ireland: Jamie Ball

Home market (Ireland) story - sponsored by Fáilte Ireland: Pól O Conghaile

Best Adventure - sponsored by & Salzburgerland State Board of Tourism: Yvonne Gordon

Best Skiing - sponsored by Topflight & Gastein Tourist Board Austria: Catherine Murphy

Best Short Haul - sponsored by Sunway: Pól O Conghaile

Best Long Haul - sponsored by Cassidy Travel: Isabel Conway

Click thumbnail to see a larger image

Isabel Conway takes to the floor with Ed Finn (Travel Times) for a victory waltz
John Spollen (President ITAA) and Kathryn Mc Donnell (Spanish TO)
Gorgeous Gals! Maureen Ledwith (Holiday World Business Exhibitions), Fiona Cunningham (Tourism NI) and Muriel Bolger (freelance)
Sara Rivero (Spanish TO) surrounded by admirers, as always!
Paulette Moran (Holiday World Business Exhibitions)
Glam Chicks! Fiona Cunningham, Ann Mooney and Geraldine Bradley
Darragh Keany (Sunday World) and JP Thompson about to hand over the reins!
Patrick Keenan with Joan Scales
The uber-talented Eoghan Corry (Travel Extra)
Winners! Isabel Conway (Overall winner Travel Journalist of the Year) with Mary Fanning (winner of best broadcasting RTE Nationwide)
The super Spanish delegation with Eoghan Corry (Travel Extra)
Part of the Spanish delegation hard at play with John Spollen and Sharon Harney (Cassidy Travel)
Ruben Lopez (Spanish TO) with Maria (Islas Canarias) and Tom Sweeney (Independent Newspapers)
Pol O'Conghaile (winner of Home Market Ireland story) with his admirers!
Jacinta Mc Glynn (Travelbiz) with Sara Rivero (Spanish TO)
Fiona and Mary are just delighted with their award!

Follow us on Facebook

No poll available. Check back soon.

Get the TravelBiz Diary

The essential guide to the Irish Travel
Industry year.

Get the TravelBiz Diary.