Follow us
COVID-19 Trade Update Page

The Masters - Some Interesting facts.

16th April 2021 - 3:30pm

Hideki Matsuyama wins the Masters.

Hideki Matsuyama wins the Masters.

No joy for Shane and a huge congratulations to Hideki Matsuyama.


Marian Benton (MAP Travel) loved our Masters broadcast so much she sent us this Augusta factsheet as part of some recent research.


The first of the four Majors, the Masters took place last weekend at Augusta National Golf Course, Georgia. The Masters was established in 1934 and, unlike the other Majors, is always played on the same course.  Some interesting facts:


The Masters at Augusta National was started by amateur champion Bobby Jones and investment banker, Clifford Roberts.  After his grand slam win in 1930 Jones acquired Fruitland Nurseries, a 365 acre former fruit plantation, for $70,000 and co-designed the course with Scottish golf architect Alister Mackenzie. First played in 1934, the Masters is an official PGA and European Tour event. 


Each hole is named after a plant or shrub.  Some 80,000 plants have been added to the course since it was constructed.


In 1981 the Augusta National greens were switched from Bermuda grass to Bentgrass.


The Course is closed from May to October as the weather is too hot (it was originally envisaged as a winter course for rich northerners).


The Clubhouse was built in 1854 as the home of Dennis Redmond and is believed to be the first concrete house built in the South.


The membership of Augusta National is a closely guarded secret but is believed to be around 300.   Membership is strictly invitation only.  If you ask, you won’t get in. Ron Townsend was the first African-American member admitted in 1990, and in 2012, Condoleezza Rice and Darla Moore became the first female members. Dwight Eisenhower is still the only US President to have been a member of Augusta National.


If you don’t receive your bill at the end of the month you know you are no longer a member.


Masters winners are welcome to return to Augusta National to play the course with a guest but they still have to be joined by a member.

Bobby Jones is the President of the Club in perpetuity.



Youngest winner:  Tiger Woods 1997 (21 years 104 days)

Oldest winner:    Jack Nicklaus 1986 (46 years 82 days)

First overseas winner:  Gary Player (1961)

First European winner:  Seve Ballesteros (1980)

Course record 63:  Nick Price (1986) and Greg Norman (1996) – neither won.

Most wins:   Jack Nicklaus is a 6 times winner with Tiger on his tail with 5 wins.

Tiger Woods has made more money than any other player from the Masters.  His 22 appearances have yielded $9,505,469.


Traditions The Green Jacket

One of the most recognisable sports ‘uniforms’ the Green Jacket was initially devised in 1939 to enable patrons (never called fans at Augusta) to recognise Members should they need assistance at the Course.  Since 1949 a green jacket has been awarded to the champion who must return it the following year.  It remains his property but must be stored in the Clubhouse in Augusta. A repeat winner does not get a new jacket.


Seve kept his jacket and said that, if they wanted it back, the committee at Augusta were welcome to come to Spain to collect it!  Sam Snead was the first champion to wear one. Only winners and members are allowed to wear one.


In 1994 a golf fan found a Green Jacket in a Canadian secondhand shop.  He bought it for $5, Augusta confirmed its authenticity and it sold at auction for nearly $140,000 in 2017!


Champions Dinner

Inaugurated by Ben Hogan in 1952, it is held on the Tuesday before each tournament for past champions and Augusta Board Members.  The winner of the previous year’s tournament selects the menu.  


The trophy

Since 1961, Masters Champions have received a trophy in addition to the Green Jacket. The permanent Masters Trophy, which depicts the clubhouse, was made in England and consists of over 900 separate pieces of silver.



All caddies must wear the traditional white boiler suit and green caps.  Since 1983 players are allowed to use their own caddies who must abide by this ‘dress code’. 


The Irish at the Masters

Whilst we have had many illustrious representatives over the years going back to Joe Carr in 1967 we have yet to see an Irish golfer wearing the green jacket. Our best finish has been Rory McIlroy’s fourth place in 2015.    This year Rory and Shane Lowry will carry the flag for us. We wish them well.


Honorary Starters

Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player will be joined by Lee Elder, the first black golfer to compete at the Masters in 1975.   He was also the first black golfer to play on the American Ryder Cup Team in 1979.

This year’s prize fund was $11.5m.



Click thumbnail to see a larger image

Hideki Matsuyama wins the Masters
No joy for Shane and a huge congratulations to Hideki Matsuyama
No joy for Shane and a huge congratulations to Hideki Matsuyama
No joy for Shane and a huge congratulations to Hideki Matsuyama

Follow us on Facebook

No poll available. Check back soon.

Get the TravelBiz Diary

The essential guide to the Irish Travel
Industry year.

Get the TravelBiz Diary.